Murray Library Scottish Charity No. - SC 001142

The Murray Library was originally set up to provide a library and reading rooms with educational and recreational facilities for the local community. These facilities no longer exist, but the Trustees continue to endeavour to meet the objectives of the trust deed by trying to ensure that the building is used to further the education and recreation of the local community. The Trustees have also continued to monitor the condition of the Murray Library building and have had necessary repairs done to keep it wind and water tight.
The Kilrenny and Anstruther Burgh Collection have occupied a room in the building until recently when the major maintenance of the building was identified, requiring occupants to vacate the building by the end of May 2012.

Waid Academy pupils continued with their painting and decorating in 2011 and succeeded in making other parts of the building more presentable.
During 2011 the Murray Library building has been very popular with local groups as a venue for many and varied events Users included:
• Kinetic Youth Theatre Group
• The Lovely Pigeon Company
• A local jazz band
• St Ayles Rowing Club
• A local Art Club
• The local Tennis Club, and
• Anstruther Improvements Association.
The latter went from strength to strength in 2012 with their twice-weekly Community Charity Shop events.

Alan Lodge of Fife Historic Buildings Trust has been successful in securing the necessary grants for the renovation of the main building to go ahead.
Major urgent maintenance work is due to take place over the summer 2012, and the front of the building is already covered in scaffolding and safety netting.
The renovation of the Murray Library is being funded by a series of grants to convert the main front building into accommodation for walkers and visitors to the area, whilst the rear former snooker hall has been identified as being suitable for local creative industries. These works are due to commence in winter 2012 and will take approximately 9 months.

The Murray Library was established in 1908 by Trust Deed and is now a registered charity.
Through successive re-organisation of local administration, Fife Council is in the position of appointing all of the Trustees. The composition of the Trustees is as follows:
3 members of Fife Council
2 members from the two local school boards
2 members from the Community Council
2 members of the public recruited through advertisement or otherwise.

The current members as of April 2012 are:
Elizabeth Riches
Donald Macgregor
Mike Scott-Hayward
Alasdair Busby
Carl Van Der Lee
Lorna Jones
Gerald Cooper
Lindsey Brown
David Shields

The Trustees direct and control the activities of the charity, and are responsible for monitoring the financial position of the organisation.

These pages will be regularly updated to include progress on the various works being undertaken on the Murray Library.
In particular, the tender documents for the proposed accommodation proposal will be posted here.